Saturday, October 20, 2007

CD Review: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band

1) Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
2) With a Little Help From My Friends
3) Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds
4) Getting Better
5) Fixing a Hole
6) She's Leaving Home
7) Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite
8) Within You, Without You
9) When I'm Sixty-Four
10) Lovely Rita
11) Good Morning, Good Morning
12) Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band Reprise
13) A Day in the Life

This album marks the point when the Beatles became the greatest band of all time. Don't get me wrong...I love the stuff they did before this album, but this is the one. The one that changed music forever. From then on, an album wasn't a collection of songs. It was the whole, the sum of all its parts. From then on, artists didn't have to stick to the style of their previous albums. Sure, Rubber Soul and Revolver were steps towards this, the Beatles' magnum opus. But Sgt. Pepper's was still quite the departure. It was the beginning of a new era for the Beatles, and for music altogether. Revolver's songs could be performed live by a four-piece band. "A Day in the Life"? Forget it. From then on, an album wasn't just the studio version of the band's live set. It was a work of art.

***** out of five

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are valued greatly. Please adhere to the decorum on the "First time here?" page. Comments that are in violation of any of the rules will be deleted without notice.

3/11 Update - No Moderation

*Non-anonymous commenting is preferred to avoid mix-ups. Anonymous comments are, at the behest of management, more likely to be deleted than non-anonymous comments.